ALLEN Smart Learning: About Civilian Award BHARAT RATNA : Episode -1

About Civilian Award Bharat Ratna :

Welcome to this exciting episode where we are going to understand about the Civilian Awards. The Indian honours system is the system of awards given to individuals for a variety of services to the Republic of India. Among these, the Civilian Awards are bestowed upon people with exceptional achievements in their respective field of work. The Civilian awards are presented to the recipients by the President of India on Republic Day. Civilian Awards are further categorized as per the degree of honour.

The Civilian awards conferred are:

Bharat Ratna- 1st degree of honour
Padma Vibhushan- 2nd degree of honour
Padma Bhushan- 3rd degree of honour
Padma Shri- 4th degree of honour

In this video, you will learn in detail about Bharat Ratna, the highest civilian award, which was introduced in the year 1954 by the first president, Dr Rajendra Prasad.