M. Phil. Course in Foreign Policy Studies from University of Calcutta

M. Phil. Course in Foreign Policy Studies from University of Calcutta


Course: M. Phil. Course in Foreign Policy Studies

Institute / University: University of Calcutta

About University

The Court of Directors of the East India Company sent a dispatch in July, 1854 to the Governor-General of India in Council, suggesting the establishment of the Universities of Calcutta, Madras and Bombay.In pursuance of that dispatch, the University of Calcutta was founded on JANUARY 24, 1857.The University adopted in the first instance, the pattern of the University of London and gradually introduced modifications in its constitution.

The University of Calcutta had an enormous territorial jurisdiction during a considerable period of its existence. This jurisdiction practically continued till the Indian Universities Act of 1904 came into operation, wherein provision was made for the first time for defining the territorial limits of the five universities then existing in India (including Burma and Ceylon), viz. the Universities of Calcutta, Bombay, Madras, the Punjab and Allahabad. In fact, there was no territorial limit fixed for the University of Calcutta in the Act of Incorporation in 1857, and when in 1882 the Punjab University and in 1887 the University of Allahabad came into existence, no provision was made in the Acts for these Universities, curtailing the jurisdiction of the University of Calcutta.

For more details visit here.