General Knowledge Quiz -32 ( Based on Patriotism )

Q.1 Which is the first state to be formed on the basis of language?

Madhya Bharat also known as Malwa Union,was an Indian state in west-central India, created on 28 May 1948 from twenty-five princely states which until 1947 had been part of the Central India Agency, with Jivaji Rao Scindia as its Rajpramukh.

Q.2. What do the terms Satyameva Jayate on the state emblem mean?

"Satyameva Jayate" (Sanskrit: सत्यमेव जयते satyam-eva jayate; lit. "Truth alone triumphs.") is a mantra from the ancient Indian scripture Mundaka Upanishad. Upon independence of India, it was adopted as the national motto of India. It is inscribed in script at the base of the national emblem. The emblem and the words "Satyameva Jayate" are inscribed on one side of all Indian currency. The emblem is an adaptation of the Lion Capital of Ashoka which was erected around 250 BCE at Sarnath, near Varanasi in the north Indian state of Uttar Pradesh. It is inscribed on all currency notes and national documents.

Q.3. How was Tamil Nadu known?

TamiḻNāṭu; literally 'The Land of Tamils' or 'Tamil Country') is one of the 29 states of India. Its capital and largest city is Chennai (formerly known as Madras). Tamil Nadu lies in the southernmost part of the Indian Peninsula and is bordered by the union territory of Puducherry and the South Indian states of Kerala, Karnataka, and Andhra Pradesh. It is bounded by the Eastern Ghats on the north, by the Nilgiri, the Anamalai Hills, and Kerala on the west, by the Bay of Bengal in the east, by the Gulf of Mannar and the Palk Strait on the southeast, and by the Indian Ocean on the south. The state shares a maritime border with the nation of Sri Lanka.

Q.4. Which state was divided into Maharashtra and Gujarat in 1960?

May 1 is a significant day in Indian history. 56 years ago, the modern day state of Maharashtra was formed, and the day is celebrated as Maharashtra Day. Back then, the States Reorganisation Act, 1956, clearly stated the boundaries for states within India on the basis of languages. The Bombay State was formed under this act. People speaking various languages like Marathi, Gujarati, Kutchi and Konkani asked for it. However, having two linguistic units in one state was not working out. The Sanyukta Maharashtra Samiti was leading the movement to divide Bombay state into two states — one where people primarily spoke Gujarati and Kutchhi. And the other where people primarily spoke Marathi and Konkani. Thus, on May 1, 1960, as per the Bombay Reorganisation Act, Maharashtra and Gujarat were divided and Maharashtra became a separate state

Q.5. Who is the director of the movie RANG DE BASANTI ?

Directed by Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra Produced by Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra Ronnie Screwvala P. S. Bharathi (Creative Producer) Written by Prasoon Joshi (Dialogue) Rensil D'Silva Screenplay by Rensil D'Silva Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra Story by Kamlesh Pandey Starring Aamir Khan Siddharth Narayan Atul Kulkarni Kunal Kapoor Sharman Joshi Alice Patten Soha Ali Khan R. Madhavan Waheeda Rehman Music by A. R. Rahman Cinematography Binod Pradhan Edited by P. S. Bharathi Production By Rakeysh Omprakash Mehra Pictures Distributed by UTV Motion Pictures Release date 26 January 2006 Running time 157 minutes Country India Language Hindi Punjabi English Budget ₹250 million Box office est.₹920 million

Q.6 Who founded Indian National Congress?

Allan Octavian Hume, CB ICS (6 June 1829 – 31 July 1912) was a member of the Imperial Civil Service (later the Indian Civil Service), a political reformer, ornithologist and botanist who worked in British India. He was one of the founders of the Indian National Congress, a political party that was later to lead in the Indian independence movement. A notable ornithologist, Hume has been called "the Father of Indian Ornithology" and, by those who found him dogmatic, "the Pope of Indian ornithology."

Q.7 Which is the smallest state in terms of area?

Goa is a state in India within the coastal region known as the Konkan in India. It is bounded by Maharashtra to the north and Karnataka to the east and south, with the Arabian Sea forming its Western coast. It is India's smallest state by area and the fourth smallest by population. Goa has the highest GDP per capita among all Indian states, that is two and a half times that of the country.It was ranked the best placed state by the "Eleventh Finance Commission" for its infrastructure and ranked on top for the best quality of life in India by the National Commission on Population based on the 12 Indicators.

Q.8 When did India become a republic?

The history of the Republic of India begins on 26 January 1950. The country became an independent nation within the British Commonwealth on 15 August 1947. Concurrently the Muslim-majority northwest and east of British India was separated into the Dominion of Pakistan, by the partition of India. The partition led to a population transfer of more than 10 million people between India and Pakistan and the death of about one million people. Indian National Congress leader Jawaharlal Nehru became the first Prime Minister of India, but the leader most associated with the independence struggle, Mahatma Gandhi, accepted no office. The new constitution of 1950 made India a secular and a democratic state.

Q.9 Which state or union territory has French as an official language?

Pondicherry is the capital city and the largest city of the Indian union territory of Puducherry. The city of Pondicherry is situated in Puducherry district of the union territory. It is affectionately known as Pondy, and has been officially known by the alternative name Puducherry in Tamil (New Town) since 2006.

Q.10 What does the three colours of national flag represent?

Our national flag consists of stripes of three colours - Saffron, White and Green from top to bottom. These three colours represent - Sacrifice (Saffron), Peace (White) and Prosperity (Green). The National Flag of India is a horizontal rectangular tricolour of India saffron, white and India green; with the Ashoka Chakra, a 24-spoke wheel, in navy blue at its centre. It was adopted in its present form during a meeting of the Constituent Assembly held on 22 July 1947, and it became the official flag of the Dominion of India on 15 August 1947. The flag was subsequently retained as that of the Republic of India. In India, the term "tricolour" (Hindi: तिरंगा, translit. Tiraṅgā) almost always refers to the Indian national flag.